Get your North Carolina Adjuster License
AdjusterPro’s Bottom Line
North Carolina residents must pass an exam before successfully applying for a license. However, North Carolina does offer reciprocal licensing to non-residents holding resident license in any other state. North Carolina may waive licensing requirements altogether in catastrophe situations per Bulletin 15-B-04 .
Our North Carolina Adjuster Exam Prep course comprehensively covers the following topics of instruction and takes about 40 hours to complete:
Insurance Terms and Concepts
- Ocean Marine
- Terrorism Insurance
- Flood Insurance
- Workers Compenstion
- NC Unfair Claim Settlement Practices Act
- NC Motor Vehicle Insurance Laws
- NC Insurance Regulation
Sound boring? We get it, studying insurance doesn’t sound like anyone’s idea of how to spend a Saturday. That said, we think you’ll be pleasantly surprised at how much you’ll enjoy our course. It’s simple, user-friendly, and packed with information you’ll need to know to ace your North Carolina State Exam.
Quizzes and Practice Exams
- We want you to pass the North Carolina exam the first time and we’ve carefully crafted our course to help you do just that:
- Throughout the course you will be quizzed on the material to help ensure your knowledge retention is where it needs to be.
- You will need to score a 70% on each quiz in order to move ahead in the course. You can retake a quiz as many times as needed to pass.
- We provide multiple practice exams at the conclusion of the course to simulate the real exam.
- We recommend that you pass each practice exam with a score of at least 90% before tackling the state exam.
Current students looking for complete Course FAQ’s? Please click here .
Preview our new North Carolina Adjuster Course
We re-launched our North Carolina course in October 2015 as part of an overhaul of all our online courses. We’re very happy with the new course and think you will be, too.
Besides more comprehensive material, the new course includes audio narration (easily muted if you prefer), appealing visuals, and re-tooled quizzes which all work together to make this course both effective and pleasant. Enjoy this 2-minute video tour:
We make corporate adjuster licensing training simple just answer the brief questions below to get the conversation started. We welcome RFPs from larger organizations.
Adjuster License Requirements
To become a licensed North Carolina insurance adjuster, individuals must:
- Be 18 years of age or more.
- If a resident, successfully complete the Pearson VUE insurance exam.
- Some non-residents are eligible for reciprocal licensing:
- If you already hold an adjuster license for the same lines of authority in your home state, then you may apply for the non-resident license without taking the North Carolina exam;
- If you have adopted another state as your home state for licensure (i.e. you have taken that state s exam to qualify for an adjuster license), you may apply for the North Carolina non-resident license without taking the exam;
- If you are a non-resident and you do not already hold a resident license in another state, you will have to take the North Carolina exam, applying as though you were a resident.
- DESIGNATED HOME STATE ADJUSTER LICENSE:
If you live in a state that does not qualify adjusters by examination, you may take the North Carolina examination in order to qualify as a non-resident adjuster. Contact Pearson VUE and ask for Out of State Testing. The candidate will be able to use NC as a domicile state or designated home state for licensure in other states. You need not travel to North Carolina to take your examination. If you choose North Carolina as your domicile state or designated home state for the adjuster license, you must comply with North Carolina s continuing education requirements.
- Click here for a detailed FAQ.
Adjuster Exam Preparation
AdjusterPro offers an adjuster exam prep solution specifically for North Carolina. Start your course above and take your North Carolina adjuster exam with full confidence you can pass the first time.
Adjuster Exam Registration
Exams cannot be scheduled unless you have completed a license application online at NIPR. Once you have applied you will receive an email authorization from Pearson VUE that will contain information on how to schedule your exam.
Refer to the North Carolina Candidate Handbook for detailed information on taking the exam.
North Carolina License Application
- All license requirements must be completed within 6 months of the application date. Failure to complete the requirements within 6 months would result in forfeiture of all submitted fees and the applicant must reapply and pay all fees.
- Residents must apply online via NIPR before scheduling exam. If you are a non-resident but you are not being licensed reciprocally, you will take the exam and apply as though you were a resident.
- After passing the exam wait 48-72 hours and NIPR will match up your results with your pending license application.
- NIPR will send an email notification to the North Carolina Licensing Office of Pearson VUE that your exam has been successfully completed.
- When license application is approved, NIPR will send a Congratulatory Email with a link to instructions on how to print your new license through SBS Connect. Licenses may be printed 48-72 hours after receipt of this email.
- Print your license by visiting SBS Connect.
- Follow the steps to set up a free account and establish a password.
- Once enrolled, it is quick and easy to click on the option Print Your License.
- Be sure to save your license record to a file on your computer in case of printer problems.
- The first time to print is free.
- Applicants (residents or non-residents) who do not have to take the exam can apply online via NIPR and pay the application fee.
North Carolina grants reciprocal licensing privileges to any non-resident applicants who hold an adjuster license in any other state. Residents and non-residents who do not already hold an adjuster license elsewhere must pass the Pearson VUE exam. If you adopted another state as your home state for the purpose of obtaining a resident license (i.e. if you took the adjuster exam of a state that is not your home state), then that state can count as your resident state. You are eligible for the North Carolina non-resident license without taking the exam.
In the event of a catastrophe, a licensed adjuster from another state may be brought into North Carolina to work as an adjuster even though he or she does not have a North Carolina license. Please click here for more information.
- Examination Fee (if required): $46.00
- Initial Application Processing Fee: $44
- Registration Fee: $50
- NIPR Application Transaction Fee: $5
- License Fee: $75
- License Renewal Processing Fee: $34
- License Renewal Fee: $75
- Click here for a further breakdown of North Carolina Adjuster Fees.
Total cost to get your license: $329.00
Maintaining Your License
- Your North Carolina Adjuster license will need to be renewed by April 1st of each year.
- Renew your license by completing your continuing education and submitting a license renewal via nipr.com .
- Continuing Education–if you are a:
- Resident or a non-resident who took the North Carolina exam: 24 Hours of CE (including 3 ethics and 3 flood credits) are required every two years.
- Non-resident who qualified for licensure because you were already licensed for the same lines of authority in your home state: simply meet the CE requirements of your home state.
- Non-resident who qualified for licensure by taking an insurance exam in another state: simply meet the CE requirements for the state in which you took the exam.
- For more information on New Licensee CE Requirements click here .
- For more information on CE Extension or Exemption click here .
- As of March 25, 2013 Vertafore (formerly Sircon) is the Department’s CE Administrator, handling all continuing education services, including provider approval, course approval, course roster processing and compliance calculation for licensees. Licensees will be able to search for courses and view their continuing education records through the Vertafore website www.sircon.com .
- See here for more details on North Carolina’s CE requirements and changes.
- It is important to maintain current information with the North Carolina Department of Insurance. Update your name and address from this page (see ‘licensing’ then ‘license changes.’)
Contact the North Carolina Department of Insurance
Agent Services, 120 4 Mail Service Center, 27699-120 4